Oklahoma Water & Pollution Control Conference Presents Six Awards to the City of Chickasha

The Oklahoma Water & Pollution Control Conference (OWPCC) was held this month in Midwest City at Rose State College on October 8-11, 2018.  The OWPCC is an annual conference that caters to individuals in the water and wastewater industry.  Conference attendees can pursue continuing education classes, sit in on keynote presentations, and exchange knowledge and ideas with others in the industry. This event encourages networking and highlights outstanding performance, as well as offer educational opportunities.

The OWPCC, once called the Oklahoma Water & Pollution Control Association (OWPCA), dates back to 1926 and is one of the oldest Operators Associations in the Country.  The OWPCA helps train Operators in the Water and Wastewater Industry and still continues those traditions.  On October 10, 2018, the OWPCC held its Annual Awards for the Operators throughout the State of Oklahoma.  The Awards were based on Large, Medium, and Small Wastewater and Water Systems throughout the State.  The City of Chickasha came away with Six Awards for Medium Plants.

This year, Bill Clark, Environmental Coordinator, Rose State College, and Steve Hardeman, City of Norman Wastewater Plant Supervisor, both members of the OWPCC Board presented the Awards.

Chickasha received the following Awards:

Medium Water Plant of the Year – USW Utility Group, City of Chickasha

Most Improved Medium Wastewater Plant of the Year, Chickasha Wastewater Plant, USW Utility Group

Medium Wastewater Plant Supervisor of the Year – Debbie Segroves, USW Utility Group, City of Chickasha

Medium Wastewater Plant Maintenance Supervisor of the Year – Derrick McDaniel, USW Utility Group, City of Chickasha

“The Darcey Award” – Darrel White, USW Utility Group, City of Chickasha – Established in 1961 in honor of H.J. Darcey, State Sanitary Engineer, this award recognizes the Wastewater Operator of the Year.

“The Stapley Award” – Timothy R. Anderson, USW Utility Group, City of Chickasha – Established in 1961 in honor of Edward Stapley who as an educator at Oklahoma Agricultural & Mechanical College (now Oklahoma State University) was deeply involved in educating operators, this award is given to the Water Operator of the Year.